Scandinavia Bound

Hi, my name is Matthew Leonard. I will am a rising Junior Mechanical Engineering major, Math minor from Benbrook TX. I am very much looking forward to exploring the beautiful countries of Norway, Sweden, and Denmark this summer with my fellow CSI travelers.

This is going to be my first trip out of North America and I am really looking forward to it! This trip was actually something of a surprise to me when I found out that I was going. I had completely forgotten that I had applied for it in the mess of Fall semester. I had to read the first paragraph of the email 3 times before I realized that I would be going to Scandinavia this summer. I am extremely happy that I am going though! These countries are not your typical tourist destination, but they are rated as some of the happiest, richest, and free-est countries in the world!! They are also drenched in fabulous scenery and history.

Having lived in Texas my entire life, I have not had the pleasure of experiencing very many cultures outside of the American and Hispanic ones. Therefore, one of the things that I hope to accomplish through this trip is experience these new cultures as much as I can while I am in Scandinavia. One way in which I wish to do this is to visit at least one art museum while we are there. This is in part due to my love of art, but also due to the significance of art to the development of a culture and how it can track it.

While I am there I also hope to bond with the people that I will be traveling with and hopefully come out of the experience with new friends!

I hope that you have learned a little bit about me and what I am looking forward to in my trip! Because I know that I am very much looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

