An Unexpected Journey

When I received the fateful email from Mike Marshall that I had a spot on the Scandinavia trip, it was like receiving a letter to attend Hogwarts.  I stared in disbelief as it sank in that I was invited to go to a mysterious and fantastic land and had most of my expenses paid for.  It was too good to be true, yet it was.  I couldn’t believe my luck.  I was only a freshman! I knew that my name had not been entered many times into the lottery for this trip.  Yet, somehow against the odds, the stars aligned in my favor, and I am about to embark on one of the most unexpected journeys in my life.

I had never planned to go to Scandinavia, and I would probably never go there if it weren’t for this specific program.  I had some initial hesitations, about going because I was afraid it would interfere with my plans for the summer.  However, I quickly realized how I couldn’t turn down such an incredible adventure.  So what if I knew barely anything about Scandinavia?  I will learn about it.  When an opportunity like this comes, you’ve got to take it.

Life is full of such strange twists and turns.  I never imagined that my path will somehow lead to the land of the midnight sun. I can’t wait to immerse myself into a new culture, learn its history and folklore, and bask in the beautiful sceneries.  I hope to gain experiences that will enrich my life with a dose of spontaneity and adventure.

Leave a Reply

