Around the World in…. a summer?

Hey everyone, my name is Hunter Hilton. I’m about to be a senior Music Education major with a business minor.

Like some of the other individuals on this trip, I have also done some additional traveling this summer. I went on a two week trip exploring Peru with a group from the Neeley business school, and it was absolutely amazing. We explored the Amazon, hiked up Machu Picchu, fed alpacas, and on and on.

GOPR0164-0001

After the hike up to Machu Picchu

One of my favorite things of the trip was how all of us became such great friends when prior to the trip, we likely would not have even spoken to each other due to the variety of majors and other factors. I am hoping that this trek through Scandanavia will have a similar result. I am looking forward to meeting everyone and getting to know you all better through this trip.

When I got the email saying that I would be coming on this trip, I probably sat there staring at the screen with my jaw dropped for a good ten minutes. I just couldn’t believe that I’d get to go on such an amazing trip and experience the rich culture and history that these countries have to offer. I’m still a little unsure of what to expect, but I’m super excited to get up early and stay up late to see and do everything.

Everyone seems to be talking about food and the excitement of experiencing the cuisine on the trip, so I guess I’ll hop on that train. I have to be honest, I am a picky eater, and one of the things that I’m not a big fan of is seafood. My trip to Peru sort of forced me to get over some of my picky eating habits, but seafood is still one that I’m not too sure about. Since seafood is such a big part of the culture, I better figure out how to get over it quickly because I don’t want to miss out on a big part of the experience simply because the food isn’t my favorite.

So now that I’ve been to South America and will be going to Scandanavia this summer, I guess I have to plan a trip to China or somewhere in eastern Asia before the fall semester starts back up to actually make my title happen.

 

Leave a Reply

