Hidden Gem

“You’re in Norway now. We trust people here.” This was the response we received from the hotel receptionist when we asked her if she needed to see our IDs for check-in. It was a wake up call to us Americans that things are done differently here in Scandinavia. We all answered her response with a big round of applause- delighted by this new mentality. 

After my first two days in Norway, I’ve already decided that I want to live here for the rest of my life. I appreciate the slow paced, carefree lifestyle that all people seem to embody, and I love the happiness that they carry with themselves throughout the day. My mom’s side of the family is Norwegian and it thrills me to picture my great grandparents living in a country marked by breathtaking geographic beauty and filled with citizens who believe all people deserve to have a quality standard of living. 

Norway is one of the wealthiest countries in the world, but the citizens dont flaunt their wealth. The pride they have for their country is equaled by their kind sense of humility.   And I think it is best that they don’t publicize what an incredible country Norway really is- I, too, want to keep this place a secret. 

Leave a Reply

