Can I live here?

I’m not entirely certain what I expected Oslo to be like on the flight out here besides that it would be colder and they make some quality sweaters. In the few days I’ve been here, it’s pretty easy for me to say that Oslo has jumped up to one of my favorite places in the world.

The contrast in mentality compared to that of Americans is probably the most refreshing thing about this city (with the summer temperatures below 90 degrees coming in close second). The people here are much more concerned with relationships and helping others, and are happy to pay higher taxes knowing that the money helps to improve the quality of life for the entire community. While there are still people with more money, they do not flaunt their wealth.

I am also surprised that I find the history and all of the information we’ve gathered through museums and tours so interesting. I am not much of a history person, but learning about Norwegian history and the timeline of occupations/unions/governments has actually been very enjoyable.

I would fit in very well living here, in my opinion. I am not the most outgoing person, and don’t often bring attention to myself, which matches the Norwegian mentality. And nothing against Texas, but I could appreciate being able to walk outside and not start sweating immediately.

Leave a Reply

